About Us

Arafura Medical Clinics have been consistently providing reliable health care services from its Darwin medical centres for more than 15 years. Our goal to provide the best possible medical services was recognised with our naming as Practice of The Year Award 2004 by the Australian General Practice Accreditation Limited (AGPAL).
At our family friendly clinics we use the latest technology to help us provide our patients with a high standard of medical service within a warm and compassionate environment.


Our first clinic was opened at Humpty Doo in December 1997. A second clinic, in Palmerston, followed in August 2005, with our Casuarina medical clinic joining the group in August 2007 and Howard Springs in August 2007. Berry Springs opened in April 2015 and Zuccoli in April 2017.
Extensions to our Casuarina medical centre were completed in October 2010, with the addition of four new consulting rooms, an administrative office and a group archive facility.
The Darwin doctors at our clinics specialise in a range of fields. Their medical expertise is coupled with a diverse cultural understanding. Our team of medical professionals are dedicated to providing warm and personalised services, and practical healthcare advice.
Across our medical practices we have a total of 30 consulting rooms, which allow us to offer the services of visiting specialists as well as our permanent doctors, diabetes educators and counsellors. Six practice nurses are spread across our six clinics.
Arafura Medical Clinics are fully computerised and utilise the latest technologies. All appointments, records and accounts are managed by Medical Director and Medilink. Patient confidentiality is assured at all times.

Dr Lionel Crompton

Our group of Darwin medical practices are owned by Dr Lionel Crompton and Mrs Patricia Crompton. Dr Crompton is the Director and Practice Principal.
Dr Crompton graduated from the University of Queensland in 1970 and worked as the Chief of Accident and Emergency at the Royal Darwin Hospital before opening a practice in Parap NT.
Under the direction of Dr Lionel Crompton, the Arafura Group was born in 1997, with the opening of the Fred's Pass practice, Humpty Doo.

Our Staff

  • Dr Lionel Crompton - Owner & Practice Principal
  • Dr Vicki Evans
  • Dr Diana Erickson
  • Dr Kanzul Ali
  • Dr Safi Ahmed
  • Dr Mohammad Habib
  • Dr Muhammad Hasan
  • Dr Joe Shohag
  • Dr Tim Choudhury
  • Dr Sam Salamisaadatloo
  • Dr Ayne Akhter
  • Dr Swadhin Paul
  • Dr Lovely Saha
  • Dr Nafisa Nasrin
  • Dr Jahan Samsad
  • Dr Manal Mohammed
  • Dr Dev Sanyal
  • Dr Humera Safi
  • Dr Israt Hafiz
  • Dr Alireza Ahmadvand
  • Dr Mosaraf Khan